First-time DUI Offense and License Reinstatement
Anyone who is convicted of a DUI offense in the state of Illinois will have his or her license suspended for a minimum 3-month period. If you refused a blood or Breathalyzer test, your suspension may be extended by 6 months. A license suspension can create a significant burden and may prevent a person from getting to work, to school, or to other important appointments. If this applies to you, you may be able to apply for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) with the Illinois Secretary of State.
Restricted Driving Permit Eligibility
Before an individual with a DUI conviction can apply for an RDP, he or she must first complete an alcohol evaluation and required treatment at a facility licensed by the Illinois Office of Alcohol and Substance Abuse. Depending on the severity of the DUI offense, a first-time offender may be classified as either Minimal Risk (Level 1), Moderate Risk (Level 2M), or Significant Risk (Level 2S). The treatment requirements for these three levels are classified as follows:
- Level 1 Minimal Risk: Completion of a 10-hour alcohol education course
- Level 2M Moderate Risk: Completion of a 10-hour alcohol education course and completion of at least 12 hours in an alcohol counseling program
- Level 2S Significant Risk: Completion of a 10-hour alcohol education course, completion of at least 20 hours in an alcohol abuse treatment program, and continuous participation in an aftercare program over a six-month period
Once an individual has been evaluated and completed the corresponding treatment, he or she may then apply for an RDP to regain legal driving privileges. To have an RDP issued, the applicant must also obtain SR-22 insurance to prove that he or she is covered by the minimum insurance required by state law.
For assistance with obtaining the SR-22 insurance that you need to get back on the road, contact the helpful Chicago car insurance experts of Insure on the Spot today at 888-972-SAVE.